Reviews

SELECTION OF REVIEWS

Hello Larry

Thank you for an absolutely brilliant evening last night.  Everyone had major fun and they all thought you are fantastic.

Hope you have a great weekend

Kind regards

Brenda  (PRICE WATERHOUSE COOPERS QUIZ ORGANISERS JULY 2016)

________

“The quizwizz event went down really well at our manco getaway. The team had a lot of fun, relaxed andgot to know each other. It definitely brought out some people’s competitive side and showed us how much passion to succeed, our team has”

– Sandy Visser (Coricroft Quiz at Kloofzicht Lodge on 3 December 2014)

“I wanted to convey my heartfelt thanks for leading our quiz last night. The feedback from colleagues and clients alike is extremely positive, and it couldn’t have been done without you. You can count on us calling you again in the future for our second Thomson Reuters Interbank Quiz” – Matthew Wolf, Reuters

“Everyone had a great time at the quiz and the feedback has been fantastic, even from those that were a little nervous with the idea in the beginning. You were so well prepared and the quiz ran so smoothly, we would like to make it a regular event.”

– Nikki Bouwer (National Health Services Laboratory)

“Hi Larry The Pub Quiz was a great success and both divisions thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks again for everything Larry; we look forward to working with you again next year.”

– Sara Makhabane (KPMG May 2013)

“Thank you for a fantastic quiz night last night. It was clear that people had a very enjoyable time there…Thanks so much and we hope to work with you again in the near future”

– Karen Ward (Sound Media- Quiz night for Cell C held at Colony Arms on Thursday 12 April)

Hi Larry, Just a quick thank to you and you helpers for last night. The format of the quiz worked out really well and I think using an average score to decide the winner was the best option. Overall the function was a great success and from the comments I’ve received back today everyone had a great evening. I’m sure we will be seeing you again next year. Kind regards,”

–  Richard Wright (KPMG – RUBBER DUCK QUIZ CHALLENGE)

“The quiz was not only insightful and challenging but it was fun too. A person doesn’t feel like they are being grilled at all. One thing I like about the quiz is that the questions are so diverse that everyone has something to add. The professionalism displayed when conducting the quiz is phenomenal”

Nkosinathi Shikakane (Organiser of Standard Bank CIB Quiz 20 June 2012)

“Many thanks for a great evening’s entertainment.This will hopefully be one of many quiz evening’s to come!We, at Antalis have never done anything of the sorts before , and our industry thoroughly enjoyed themselves.As a quiz master, you and your team were great, well organized and controlled.Great mix of questions, and all enjoyed the format. A awesome time was had by all, and this was our intention!We certainly would like to make use of your services in the future.” – From Dave Jameson (Antalis, 8 June 2012)

“Kingsmead’s PTA hosted a Quiz for their parents on Friday, 16 March in the school’s Senior School hall.  The evening started with drinks and snacks followed by the first half of the quiz.  The 160 parents (including a few teachers) sat in teams of 10 around a table and together worked through the challenges of the quiz questions.  Larry kept the pace moving with his wonderful range of questions covering different topics of general interest.  The mother’s on the PTA provided the curries for supper.  After supper, everyone settled down to the second half of the quiz.  Everyone loved the music round as they had a chance to listen to some great music from the past few decades.  The final wipe-out round evened things out a bit but there was a clear winning table followed by a second and third table.  The raffle was drawn and fun prizes were handed out.  It was a fantastic evening which will need to be repeated!”

– Sally Herbert (Chairperson Kingsmead College PTA- March 2012)

“Hi Larry, Thank you! The Quiz  was awesome! Interactive, informative and competitive!”

– Naureen Khamiso  (Tradekings, March 2012)

“Thank you so much for hosting the quiz at our Master Maths franchisee Christmas lunch.  It was so much more fun than just eating and talking shop and the feedback I had from my colleagues was that they thoroughly enjoyed it.  We were all a bit brain dead from a tough year of teaching but even those who were resistant to the idea at first said that they had a super time. Many thanks again for your very professional and entertaining contribution to our year end function!”

Colleen Hogan (Master Maths)

“Hi Larry, Thank you so much for the fantastic Quiz evening last night.  Kevin was a great Quiz Master and all the staff thoroughly enjoyed it.  We will definitely have you back for more Quiz’s in 2012. Have a great festive season and all the best”

– Lucy Price (Organiser of the quiz for Sybase, held on 7 December 2011)

“Hi Larry, Thank you so much for the awesome quiz evening you did for us last night.

Everybody had such a good time…”

– Dawn DeVilliers (Standard Bank- Quiz held “Under the Oaks” at Country Club Johannesburg on 29th November 2011)

“Hi Larry Thank you so much for the Quiz you put together for our year end function. It was enjoyed by everyone, which is great as our office is really diverse in both age and culture! The Quiz was well organised, and it was great that we didnt have to do anything, you had it all sorted, so that even the function organisers could enjoy the function. Thank you again, and I cannot wait for the next one!”

Elaine (Marsh Insurance quiz Friday 25th November 2011)

“The feedback from business has been excellent with people expressing excitement for future events. You were excellent in keeping the audience and competitors entertained. The evening had a smooth well controlled flow which lent well to the exciting atmosphere. The events were also structured well.”

Nishen Munnisunker (Quiz for Standard Bank CIb (Corporate Investment Banking) held on 1 November 2011)

“Just a huge thank you for all your efforts last night, we had an absolute blast!!”

– Kate Wetten ( organiser of Quizwizz Quiz for Sybase, Held at Barons on Main on 20 October 2011)

“Hi Larry, Thanks for a great evening. It was great teambuilding in that the mix of trivia allowed everyone to participate. The feedback we have received from the team has been extremely positive. It was definitely one of the best team builds that we’ve ever had!”

– Dharshni Padayachee (Fixed Income, Currency & Commodities Rand Merchant Bank. Rand Merchant Bank Quiz held at Brazenhead in Sandton on 22 Sept 2011)

“Bigreds Grill would like to Congratulate THE WOLF PACK on their Victory, in Season One of Quizz Wizz. Last Wednesday was the culmination of the hugely successful Quizz Wizz evening which we have been hosting every second Wednesday over the last 3 months. In a tightly contested season Wolf Pack pipped The Twisted Sisters and the Funky Uncles who have led from the start in the last round. Four in a row winners The Colour Bar fell out of the race with a dissapointing round to end their campaign. Cactus Jack won on the evening with a convincing Victory which included winning the Jack Pot -Bingo round where R630 was won. To the credit of Cacktus Jack in TRUE SOUTHERN STYLE they donated their entire winnings to Charity. Big Up guys!!! To all the participants of Season One Quizz Wizz a Big Bigreds Thank you for your support and enthusiasm which as no doubt made this Quizz the Premier Quizz in Jo’burg”

Craig Ashby (Owner of Big Reds, September 2011)

“Hi Larry. Thanks for the fantastic quiz last night, we had a blast and even more so because our team won!!  I believe that there are a few sore heads around town today but all in all everybody really had lots of fun.I must commend you on your quiz, you incorporated the “Irishness” of the evening very well and the fact that the quiz appeals to each individual in terms of music, literature, history, geography etc. enables it to be entertaining for everyone.  It turned out to be a very jovial event, with your quick wittedness as well as the amusing Irish crowd, fun was had by all.”

– Madeline (Irish-SA Assocation (Organiser of the quiz ) – 24 May 2012)

“Many thanks for a great quiz last night, I think everyone involved really enjoyed it!! “

– Christine Shaw (Organiser of quiz for Dainfern Nature Association held at Dainfern Country Club on 11 May 2012)

“Larry was the quiz master for our corporate function. He was fantastic. He made sure that the questions would be relevant to the crowd.  Everyone had a great time. I would definitely recommend that you use Quizwizz for any function! “

Candice de Castro (Organiser of the Quiz for Deloitte held at keg and Filly on17 April 2012)

“Larry, you are Legend. Thank you for making these quizzes as entertaining and as tough as they are.. we are all maestros until the quizz master starts .. Looking forward to the next season”

– Andy Dean (The Humble Presidents team (BIG REDS QUIZ))

“On behalf of the management and staff at Conduit Capital and Constantia Insurance we want you to know that we were very pleased with the quality of service your company provided. We sincerely appreciate your responsiveness and the way you conduct business. We received great compliments from the staff and a fun afternoon was had by all. We will recommend your company to others because of our satisfaction with your service. We look forward to doing business with you in the future”

Gavit Toet and Lourens Louw (Directors of Conduit Capital)

“Many thanks. Although I was unable to attend the semi-finals and finals, I think this is a fantastic initiative and our boys loved it! We’ll definitely be interested in participating next year.”

– Collett Rattray ( Deputy Principal , Jeppe Boys High- commenting on the Quizwizz Schools Quiz Competition)

“What a fantastic evening at last nights Quizz Evening. The biggest crowd so far with 8 teams  (over 50 people) participating in a very Challenging Quizz which was tightly contested right up to the last Wipe Out round”

– Craig Ashby (Owner of Big Reds- Our great regular fortnightly quiz venue in Mondeor)

“Hi Larry, Thanks for the great quiz last night at Zoo Lake.  You can definitely count us in in two weeks time.“

– Jeremy Yung

“Hi Larry, Thank you very much for coordinating the Quiz Evening for the SAHETI PTA.It was a very relaxing and enjoyable evening.We have had only positive feedback from parents and teachers that attended.So much so that we are thinking of making it into an annual event. Most importantly it was FUN.”

– Terry Lentzakis (SAHETI PTA Chairman, Review of quiz night at Saheti School on Friday 15 July 2011 (170 participants))

 

Reviews from regular Wednesday quiz night at Big Reds in Mondeor:

“Quiz evening ROCKED! Thanks so much for super time… And to all the teams that participated :)”

– Juliette Lewis

“Thanks for the quiz night …was fantastic”

– Mark Delise

“Thank you all for an awesome quizz evening last night. Will be there in 2 weeks time to help cactus jack up the ladder”

– Shawn Arde

 

“Awesome quiz evening last night!!! See you at the next one”

– Tyrone Kleiner

 

“Hi Larry. The Quiz day at Edcon was sooo much fun. The quiz was organized to suit the demographics as well as the audience and everyone was able to participate. A few people expressed how much fun they had after the quiz which created a great atmosphere of togetherness amongst the departments at Edcon. Thank you for organizing and helping us entertain ourselves in the afternoon. Great experience. “

–  Bernadete Grota (EDCON)

“Thanks Larry for a wonderful quiz last night – feedback from the girls has been very positive! Staff also really enjoyed it and want to know whether you do any pub quizes on weekends?”

– Wendy Robinson (Head of History at St Stithians Girls, 31 May 2011)

“On the whole, a very enjoyable evening was had by both students and parents. You are a fantastic and charismatic quiz master. The kids are still talking about the quiz two days later, the winning teams gloating over their prowess!”

– Sally Jones (Head of History at Beaulieu College,27 May 2011)

“Thanks for a very successful Quiz Night!! The pupils and teachers enjoyed themselves thoroughly. Thank you for all the hard work you put into making it a success”

Charles Dugmore (Head of History at Roedean School)

“Thank you for a wonderful evening. We had a lot of fun. Some of our girls felt that the type of questions focused a little too much on what they term ‘ pop culture’ , rather than on classical knowledge, but that is probably just because they are Roedean girls, and they expect everything to be of a terribly intellectual nature! It may just be sour grapes , as the very top academic achievers did not fare very well, and the ‘cool’ girls seemed to excel! But we all had a fun evening, and I loved the mix of questions. Lots of different types of quizzes, which was great. The time went by very quickly. Thanks to all your colleagues for their input”

– Eileen Ray (Head of Geography, Roedean School)

“After the quiz, everyone thanked us for the wonderful time and mentioned that this could be a “repeatable event. The quiz was customised to cater for our international project team members which made the quiz educational as well as fun and exciting. Larry created a very fun and enjoyable atmosphere. As the organisers, we were happy to see everyone with smiles on their faces, cheering on their teams and just having a wonderful time. Thanks once again!”

– Avikaar Ramphal (Accenture/SAB Miller held at Primi Forum in Melrose Arch on 4 May 2011)

“On behalf of Nedbank Capital and the Journos at the quiz we would like to highly recommend Quizwizz. Thank You for a Great Evening. The questions were tailored very well to the audience. Well Done!”

– Gayle Rodrigues (co-organiser Nedbank Capital quiz for Financial Journalists held at BTC London REstaurat (Rivonia) May 19th 2011)

“Dear Larry. Well Friday the 13th at CCJ proved to be awesome! Once again our members had a fabulous evening filled with a challenging mix of general knowledge questions, music and picture rounds. The team names are always a great laugh and provide much ribbing between competing teams! The “Jittering Jackals” were the overall winners and have assured me they will be back to defend their title and the “Rubber Duck” floating trophy! Thank you for the most professional run event and our thanks to Kevin for assisting!”

– Tracey Leppan (Organiser CCJ Quiz, Quiz at Country Club Johannesburg- Friday 13 May 2011)

“The first leg of the Quizwizz competition held at SAHETI was a most enjoyable evening of fun and laughter had by all. The SAHETI teachers’ team was the first teachers’ team to beat any budding general knowledge student team at any school. The two teams who will be going through to the Semi-Finals of the Quizwizz are looking forward to challenge their peers from other schools. Thank you to Larry and Kevin who were instrumental in making this a very special event for all of us.”

– Maretha Senekal (Director of Culturals, Saheti School Quiz)

“We enjoyed last night’s quizz at the CCJ (Country Club Johannesburg) – it was great fun and you were excellent”

– Margie Backhouse  (Quiz at Joburg Country Club 13 May 2011)

“Overall the event was well received by the boys and they all had a great time, the format was exciting and challenging with a wide range of topics, the boys did want more questions on Biology however and topics within the current school syllabus, The school will definitetly sign up next year, thanks to Larry and Lester for running the event looking forward to round 2.”

– From Robert Faultmeier (Senior History Teacher and House Master at Jeppe Boys, 11 May 2011)

“We had a fantastic evening and so much fun!!”

– Janine Manuel

“Hi Larry- Thanks sooo much for the fantastic job you did!”

– Bianca Letley

 

“Monday the 4th of April was our first school quiz which had been eagerly anticipated by all the students involved. Our team approached the evening with the attitude, “in it to win it”, but we landed up having so much fun that, win or lose, a fantastic evening was enjoyed by all. We look forward to the semi-final and our excitement spurs us on.”

– Jenny Turpin (Senior History Teacher at Reddam House School)

“The quiz was challenging but someone always had the answer! Well organised, well run and most enjoyable!”

– Linda Lea (Ladies Captain, Royal Johannesburg and Kengsington Golf Club (Quiz – March 2011))

“On Wednesday evening, St Andrew’s School for Girls had the first round of the interschool quiz. The girls had a fabulous evening, full of competition. We had a total of 12 teams, including a teacher’s table. The questions were varied and entertaining. We had to answer a music round, identify visual characters and general knowledge question and answers. Well done to the winning team Alcatraz, and the runner up team A3. Thank you to Larry and his team for running such a professional and enjoyable evening.”

– Robin Mowatt (Senoir History Teacher at St Andrews) 1 April 2011)

“Thank you so much for (the Quiz) last night – the Grade 11s are with me at the moment and they say they loved the evening and had so much fun!”

– Karen Van Der Merwe (Redhill School Quiz, 23 March 2011)

“The Quiz evening was a great success and everyone who participated really enjoyed themselves. It was an excellent team buil ding event and very professionally handled and run by Larry. Highly recommended!”

– Daniel Gerdis  (Principal Investements- Investec Bank) March 2011.)

“The Standard Bank Graduates ended their year with a QuizzWizz under the trees by Larry. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the challenging variety of questions and even learnt who the closet ABBA lovers were! We look forward to making this an annual event.”

– Lyndsay Shaw (organiser of Standard Bank Graduates Quiz, December 2010)

“Thanks so much for an awesome quiz! It was professionally run, relevant to the people in attendance and lots of fun. Everyone really enjoyed the evening. The format of the quiz was great, the mix between picture rounds, music and questions meant there was something for everyone. It is definitely something we will look into doing again!! ”

– Natasha (De Loitte and Touche in reference to the quiz night for JACASS (Johannesburg Article Clerks Association,  October 2010)

“Thank you for hosting what was a fantastic quiz night and super team building experience. Great fun, great company and lots of laughter.”

– Georgie Nettleton (Organiser of the quiz for VentureWeb held at Chefs in Motion on Thursday 7th Oct 2010.)

“Just wanted to say thanks again for the great evening on Thursday – the quiz was excellent once again and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves!!”

–  Matthew Joubert (organiser of quiz for Price Waterhouse Cooper on 16 Sept 2010)

“The quiz evening was a fantastic success. It was great fun and an excellent team building exercise.

Highly recommended! “

– Tasmeena Maharaj (Quiz for Nedbank (Business Intelligence), March 19th 2010)

“Thanks once again for a really good night! The quiz was well received and a good time had by all!”

– Michelle (Investec,  Quiz for Investec – March 2010)

“Dear Larry. Many thanks for facilitating what was a fun and interesting exercise that managed to engage everyone because of the range of topics covered”

– Paul (Head, Standard Bank Group Risk Division)

Comments from the quiz at Brazenhead on 23 August 2009:

“Great quiz on Thursday! Loved the new music addition!”

– Allison Woodland (Brazenhead Quiz on 23 August 2009)

“I think one suggestion, just to add even further to your presence as the Quiz Master, would be to wear a tux. I think that this would not only add to the theme, but really make you a commanding authority!” Again, many thanks for the fun :)”

– Jessie and Clint

(REPLY :- You gotta be kidding…me in a tuxedo!! I would rather eat spinach – Larry)

“Everyone loved the quiz night and you did very well to contain them.

Thank you so much, it made the whole night”

– Jacqui

“We had a fantastic time ..and we won !!!”

– The Comatose Camels from a quiz at the Colony Arms

“This really is THE best quiz in town!!”

– Jacques and Co. (from quiz evening at Brady’s pub)

“Thanks for the teambuilding quiz. All of the feedback I have received have been very positive. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience.”

–  Herman (SASOL)

 

Comments from the quiz at Brazenhead on 6 August 2008:

“When will you be hosting a quiz in the Fourways area again ? At the Brazenhead ? We really enjoyed your last one and would like to join you again”

–  Shirley

“Great format- Wipe-out round brings great tension- Good quizmaster”

– Chris Stevens

“Awesome, a great time was had- thank you !”

The Days (Brazenhead Fourways quiz – 6 August 2008)

Review of Quizwizz Quiz at Mammas Shebeen June 2010:

I used to be smart. I’m almost sure of it. Not, say, Bill Gates, but definitely not Gareth Gates. But then, varsity ended, and I stopped spending my nights reading textbooks and debating the issues of moral relativism in a smoky lounge with my classmates. Instead, I got a job, downed more beer and watched more episodes of Ramsey’s Kitchen Nightmares than is entirely healthy for a human being.

So, in an effort to wake my brain up a bit, I hauled-ass to Mama’s Shebeen in Greenside (where everyone and their uncle is a photographer / designer / film maker) and took part in the pub quiz. Now, if you’ve never been to o- picks up a mic and starts asking questions. There’s a mixture of general knowledge questions, rounds that require you to identify people in pictures and round the include listening to clues to figure out what person or place the host is talking about (hint: it’s never your first guess and shouting out loud will only make you feel like a moron).

Don’t be fooled, though, these aren’t simple questions about news events you’ll know about. Most of them are really obscure, a little ridiculous and require you to suck-thumb like you never have before. But, it is a whole load of fun, it helps you figure out which one of your mates is the weak link, and it will make you think, even if it is just for a few hours a month. The quiz takes place every second Tuesday and the winners usually get bottles of booze. Score.

“Excellent ! Thank You for an enjoyable evening”

– The Jumping Jellyfish team (Brazenhead- 6 August 2008)

 

REVIEW IN VUVUZELA (WITS UNIVERSITY NEWSPAPER) – MARCH 2009:

Intellectual pugilism at the PiG

Written by Alistair Anderson

Thursday, 05 March 2009

“I’d rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.” Dorothy Parker

The Post Graduate club hosted a pub quiz event in association with Quizwizz on Wednesday night.

Six teams of four to six members competed in a mental wrestling match. The weapons – one’s knowledge. Subjects included sport, current affairs, Walt Disney movies, idols, types of fruit and even things starting with the letter “E”.

The quiz was hosted by Larry Benjamin, the king of quizzes in Johannesburg. He hosts quizzes all over Johannesburg for pubs and other organisations. This is when he’s not lecturing International Relations at Wits or playing scrabble.

He was as charismatic as ever. He added obstacles to the wrestling match by giving the grapplers creative rounds like “Who Am I”, in which players have to guess who a person is based on clues. As the clues get easier, the points for a correct answer decrease, so it’s best not to guess without even a slight idea of the person.

Larry has also been known to throw in a few Where-Am-Is for kicks. Some powerhouse fighters even manage to get Who Am Is on the first clue; which could be: “I was born in Winnipeg in 1984.”

In this quiz, the Giggling Giraffes topped the round on a Liam Neeson “Who Am I”. Larry’s an extreme referee but also a good sport.

The Giraffes pulled up to second place with a good performance in the last 12 questions and penultimate round of the quiz.This resulted in the rumble of a quiz coming to a triple threat match between the Snooty Salamanders, the Giggling Giraffes and the Randy Rabbits.

The last round of the night was called “wipeout”. This one said which ten of the 20 given fruits and vegetables gives the consumer the recommended daily allowance of vitamin c in a helping.

No matter the Giraffes’ and the Rabbits’ attempt to double-team and power slam the Salamanders they both ended up tied and the Salamanders were victorious. We had our quiz champions!

The next PG pub quiz is at the beginning of April. The Salamanders are likely to be in for a rematch.Cheers to mental mixed martial arts!

“Thanks for an awesome evening – the best quiz I’ve ever been to”

– KPMG

“Thank you for a great day! Tons of compliments and I know that it will grow as we move forward”

– Tracey (events organiser at the Country Club Johannesburg , Quiz at the country club on 24 May 2009)